A HYMN FOR TODAY – My God, I Thank You, Who Have Made

A HYMN FOR TODAY

My God, I thank You, who have made

The earth so bright

So full of splendor and of joy,

Beauty and light,

So many glorious things are here,

Noble and right.

I thank You more that all our joy

Is touched with pain,

That shadows fall on brightest hours,

That thorns remain;

So that earth’s bliss may be our guide

And not our chain.

I thank You, Lord, that you have kept

The best in store;

We have enough, yet not too much

To long for more:

A yearning for a deeper peace

Not known before.

I thank You, Lord, that here our souls,

Though Amply blessed,

Can never find, although they seek,

A perfect rest;

Nor ever shall, until they lean

On Jesus’ breast.

8.4.8.4.8.4 – Adelaide Anne Proctor, 1884

Tune: EULOGIA – Matthew Harber, 2011

#415 in Psalms, Hymns, and Spiritual Songs, 2012

Leave a Reply

