A HYMN FOR TODAY – Ask Me What Great Thing I Know

A HYMN FOR TODAY –  Ask Me What Great Thing I Know

Ask me what great thing I know:
What delights and stirs me so?
What the high reward I win?
Whose the name I glory in?
Jesus Christ, the crucified,
Jesus Christ, the crucified.

Who is He that makes me wise
To discern where duty lies?
Who is He that makes me true
Duty, when discerned, to do,
Jesus Christ, the crucified,
Jesus Christ, the crucified.

Who is life in life to me?
Who the death of death will be?
Who will place me on His right,
With the countless hosts of light?
Jesus Christ, the crucified,
Jesus Christ, the crucified.

This is that great thing I know,
This delights and stirs me so:
Faith in Him who died to save,
Him who triumphed o’er the grave:
Jesus Christ, the crucified,
Jesus Christ, the crucified.

7.7.7.7.7 – Johann C. Schwedler, 1741
tr. Benjamin H. Kennedy, 1863

Tune: REDHEAD 76 – Richard Redhead, 1853

#106 in Psalms, Hymns, and Spiritual Songs, 2012

As with some other modern hymnals, “ye” changed to “me” also personalizes the hymn

Leave a Reply

