A HYMN FOR TODAY – And Can It Be That I Should Gain?

A HYMN FOR TODAY

And can it be that I should gain
An interest in the Savior’s blood?
Died He for me who caused His pain,
For me who scorned His perfect love?

You left Your Father’s throne above –
So free and infinite Your grace –
Emptied Yourself of all but love,
And bled for Adam’s helpless race.

Boldly I come before Your throne,
To claim Your mercy immense and free.
No greater love will e’er be known,
For, O my God, it found out me.

[Chorus]
Amazing love! How can it be
That You, my God, should die for me?
Amazing love! How can it be
That You, my God, should die for me?

Irr. – Charles Wesley, 1738 (arr. Bob Kauflin)

Tune: Bob Kauflin, 1988 (arr. Mathew L. Harber)

#451 in Psalms, Hymns, and Spiritual Songs, 2012

Leave a Reply

