A HYMN FOR TODAY – The Rock of My Heart

A HYMN FOR TODAY

The Rock of My Heart

My Lord, I need nothing beside You;
Without You, I could not have stood.
Your promise is my hope and my refuge;
Your nearness, my strength and my good.

CHORUS:

My heart may be broken within me;
My earthly strength may depart.
But You are my portion forever,
You are the Rock of my heart.
You are the Rock of my heart.

When I was distressed and embittered,
By things I could not understand,
Your presence was continually with me;
You always took hold of my hand.

I know that Your counsel will guide me
In wisdom, devotion, and love,
And afterward You’ll call me to glory
To dwell in Your presence above.

CHORUS:

My heart may be broken within me;
My earthly strength may depart.
But You are my portion forever,
You are the Rock of my heart.
You are the Rock of my heart.

9.8.10.8  – M. W. Bassford, 2000

From Psalm 73:2, 21-28

Tune: Glenda B. Schales, 2000

#29 in Psalms, Hymns, and Spiritual Songs, 2012

THE ROCK OF MY HEART takes the words of Asaph in Psalm 73 to express the Christian’s dependence on God and God’s faithfulness, even when the Christian’s faith begins to waver. (Psalm 73:2, 21-24, 25-28)

One thought on “A HYMN FOR TODAY – The Rock of My Heart

  1. Earlier, I posted a link to Martin Lloyd-Jones’ book on Psalm 73 – it reminded me of Matt Bassford’s wonderful hymn which incorporates concepts and phrases from that Psalm.

Leave a Reply

