A HYMN FOR TODAY – A Foretaste of Your Rest

A HYMN FOR TODAY

A Foretaste of Your Rest

Gracious Father, Friend divine,
Consolation of the blessed,
You have touched this day of mine
With a foretaste of Your rest.
Though tomorrow care may come,
Trial arise and grief ensue,
Now I thank You for the time
I have spent in joy with You.

Should this hour of rest depart
And the joy it brings me cease,
I will bear it in my heart
As a promise of Your peace.
When I strain beneath new woe
Or contend with future sin,
From this moment I may know
You will bless my life again.

Father, though I cannot see
How my path will end below,
Still I know You wait for me
Where my heart has longed to go.
When my body cannot stand,
Take my spirit to Your breast;
With a father’s gentle hands,
Bear my soul to Sabbath rest.

7.7.7.7.D – M.W. Bassford, 2003

Tune: COPELAND – Matthew L. Harber, 2003

#374 in Psalms, Hymns, and Spiritual Songs, 2012

A FORETASTE OF YOUR REST thanks God for the times of peace that sometimes appear in our lives. Those moments promise both that God will also be with us in tumultuous times, and that He will give us final rest in Heaven. (Isaiah 26:3; Hebrews 4:7-10)

Leave a Reply

